How grateful are you?


20130115-231006.jpg

The last year and a half or so of my life have been pretty crazy to say the least! At this point I’m not going to say why as I don’t want to be labelled by it. Although it was hard and crazy I’m a great believer that everything happens for a reason, even the bad stuff!!

20130115-233028.jpg
I feel it’s especially the bad things that make you a stronger, better person and positively change who you are. From the bad thing itself, to how you deal with it, to the people you meet, the things you do and those who support you.

20130115-232904.jpg

It’s been during this time I’ve found out who I want in my life and those who want to be there too. It’s true what they say, that people show their true colours in time. I lost a few friends but I’m so, so lucky to have the ones I kept and for the new ones that have come into my life!

20130115-233712.jpg

Another lesson I’ve learnt through friends and people I have met is to look for the positives in everyday. Even in the worst of days there will always be at least one positive! Not to take the little things for granted and to be grateful for at least one thing every day.

20130115-234014.jpg

The quote above explains brilliantly the main point to this post! I attended a course/group before Christmas where we had to each week write down five things we were grateful for during the previous week, it was a bit like doing homework in a way. At the start I found it hard to think of five things but as the weeks went on I began to look at my life differently and ended up with one for each day of the week. So one of my New Years resolutions was to keep this going.

Every night in my diary I write at the bottom what I am grateful for that day. To try to encourage friends and family I post these on my Facebook page and add a picture to make it more memorable. So I’ve decided at the end of each week I should do a blog post showing you these. I’m already two weeks in so I’ll combine them together for today.

Week 1

20130116-000211.jpg

20130116-000233.jpg

Week 2

20130116-000341.jpg

20130116-000408.jpg

After only two weeks I already love looking back on these, the general trend my friends and family, it’s not the material things in life that are important. It’s those little things that are so easy to forget and not acknowledge. So why not start now jot down or tell others each day what you are greatful for, see those positives in your life!

I’ll keep you updated each week with mine. I’d love to hear what you think about this idea and if reading this has inspired you to do the same. Once you start you’ll never look back!

Love

20130116-000930.jpg

2 thoughts on “How grateful are you?

Leave a Reply

