My fat free Italian tomato sauce recipe


20130115-191041.jpg

This blog post is a recipe for my fat free Italian tomato sauce. I had mentioned earlier on my Facebook page and asked my friends if they would be interested on this posting for them.

20130115-191335.jpg

I hate to say it but I’ve become one of those people who say I just add a bit of this and a bit of that and never really measure things anymore, but I’ll give you the basics. This recipe is more about tasting and adding what you want or doing want through taste.

Ingredients
– 1 large white onion
– 1 can of chopped tomatoes
– 2 teaspoons of dried oregano
– 1 teaspoon of crushed garlic
– 1 vegetable stock cube
– half a pint of hot water
– salt and pepper
– fry light

1. In a pot spray the base with fry light and add your chopped onion, sweat off at a low heat (I find it can sometimes stick to the bottom or burn very quickly on a high heat) if the onion does start to stick just add a little water.

20130115-192821.jpg
2. Add the garlic and dried oregano (I always lots of the dried oregano and garlic, so like I said before add to taste).

20130115-193125.jpg
3. Once cooked and sweated down add the can of chopped tomatoes, stock cube and hot water.

20130115-193314.jpg
4. Season to taste with salt, pepper and sweetener.

20130115-193429.jpg
5. At this stage you might think the sauce looks very watery, but you simmer in for about 30-45 minutes on a low heat, stirring occasionally so it doesn’t burn. The sauce will start to thicken and reduce.

20130115-193823.jpg
Above is the finished product just put in a tub, it will keep in the fridge for about a week. It’s lovely just on some pasta with grated Parmesan, in a lasagne, as the tomato sauce on a pizza, with meatballs or my boyfriend likes it with tinned tuna or chicken.

20130115-194129.jpg
This was my dinner tonight, so yummy!

Love

20130115-194229.jpg

Leave a Reply

