The Goose, Comber


20130220-193830.jpg

This blog is inspired by a new restaurant/café I have found, which I have totally fallen in love with! My friend introduced me to it on Facebook and I have already been twice and hope to go with mum this Saturday! So let me tell you more . . .

The Goose, Comber. It’s such a kitch, cute and quaint and dainty restaurant/café, which also sells antiques and gifts. They can be found at Comber Courtyard 5a High Street, BT23 5HJ Comber. These are outdoor pictures of The Goose.

20130220-203313.jpg

As you can see there is plenty of outdoor seating, which is clean and spaced well, perfect for a warm sunny day (if we ever get one)!

20130220-203444.jpg

This is a picture indoors of their antiques and gifts, as you can see very cute and kitch.

20130220-203548.jpg

These are a selection of their scones, buns, cakes, biscuits and traybakes . . . how yummy and appealing do this look?! I love how they are presented too!

20130220-203502.jpg

This is another picture of the counter and pay point, displaying all their sweet goodies, just looking at you and calling you to “eat me, try me!!”

20130220-203604.jpg

Aren’t the chandeliers so pretty? They set the perfect lighting and are in keeping with the quaint theme of the restaurant/café.

20130220-203613.jpg

So what can you have to eat? Here is their menu . . . .

20130220-203735.jpg

The first time I went was with my Dad and my brother, these are pictures from our visit . . .

20130220-203747.jpg

Dad had the stew and said it was really tasty and nice and thick. He would definitely recommend it and order it again.

20130220-203753.jpg

My brother and I ordered a Panini, they were really nice, well filled, we both really liked the granary style bread, it was something different and really tasty. There was also a light amount of dressing on the salad and the coleslaw was really nice, creamy but not too sickly. We would both recommend this and order it again.

20130220-203800.jpg

As the cakes and aroma of coffee had been tempting us the whole time we were having our lunch we decided to have a look at the drinks and cakes and pastries menu.

20130220-203812.jpg

I was tempted by the chocolate and beetroot cake, it looked delicious and I had always wanted to try chocolate and beetroot cake. I was glad I did, it was so moist and really chocolaty, something I would most definitely recommend! Also they are very generous with the portion size, you really get your money’s worth, and don’t worry if you can’t finish it, you can take the rest home with you.

20130220-203827.jpg

To go alongside my cake I went for a cappuccino, which was lovely, their coffee is really nice!

20130220-203834.jpg

My brother went for the coffee cake, he liked it but said it wasn’t as good as my mum’s lol. Nothing ever seems to compare to hers, we brought some home and she agreed with me that it was lovely, nice and moist, only thing we would change would perhaps be a stronger taste of coffee, but I would just recommend you have it with a coffee if you prefer a strong coffee taste.

20130220-203842.jpg

How cute and quaint as well are these sugar cubes, rarely do you find places that don’t serve their sugar in packets. I love that they don’t!

20130220-203848.jpg

I would most definitely recommend The Goose in Comber, if not for their food but for coffee and cake, I brought my best friends last week and they too fell in love with the place! It’s hard to find somewhere with a nice atmosphere, good tea and coffee, well priced and well baked cakes etc! I hope when mum and I go this Saturday she will fall in love with it too! I have recommended this restaurant/café to loads of friends and family and I hope you will follow my recommendation too and let me know what you think! 🙂 Whilst you are online why not go like them on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/TheGooseComber

Lots of love

20130220-203924.jpg

Leave a Reply

