SW Lasagne and low syn Garlic Pizza Recipe


20130314-234014.jpg

A couple of weeks ago a few of my friends asked me for my Slimming World Lasagne Recipe, and only now am I getting round to it! I think I got this recipe off Slimming Eats http://www.slimmingeats.com/blog/ (an amazing website for recipes and inspiration!) a few years ago but I have tweaked it a little.

20130314-234222.jpg

This was my lasagne (I made a single one) and this is the recipe, which serves 4 and is 1 HEA and 1 syn per person . . .

Ingredients

  • 400g of extra lean minced beef
  • 1 large onion (chopped)
  • 4 cloves of garlic (crushed)
  • 2 slices of lean bacon (chopped)
  • 1 carrot (chopped)
  • mushrooms
  • 400g tin of chopped tomatoes
  • oregano (as much or little as you want)
  • 2 beef stock cubes and 200ml of hot water
  • 2 splashes of wostershire sauce
  • tomato puree
  • 1tsp sweetener
  • 42g mozzarella cheese (HEA)
  • 28g parmesan cheese (HEA)
  • approximately 9 sheets of lasagne
  • salt and pepper

For the cheese sauce . . .

  • 1tbsp of cornflour/cornstarch (3.5 syns)
  • 250ml semi skimmed milk (HEA)
  • 28g parmesan cheese (HEA)
  • salt and pepper

Method

  1. Fry off your bacon in either a dry pan or a little frylight if needed. When cooked, remove from the pan.
  2. In the same pan as your bacon was in fry your carrot and onion in some frylight, cook until the onion is translucent, add the garlic and oregano, cook for a few minutes and remove from the pan and place with the bacon.
  3. Fry the mince, small parts at a time, you want the mince to cook and brown, not stew in the pan. Once all the meat has been cooked return the bacon and veg to the pan, crumble in one of the beef stock cubes, the tomato puree (about a tsp), the chopped tomatoes, sweetener and seasoning (salt and pepper).
  4. Add more oregano if needed, the wostershire sauce, and your other stock cube which you have dissolved in the hot water. Give it all a good stir and simmer for at least 30 mins (check on it during this stage, encase it sticks to the bottom of the pan).
  5. Give the mix a taste and see if it needs anymore seasoning. Season if required and add the sliced mushrooms, cook for another 15mins until the mushrooms are cooked and the mixture has reduced and thickened.
  6. Preheat your oven to 180 oC
  7. Now it’s time to make your cheese sauce. Mix the cornstarch/cornflour with a little milk and add mix together, ass the rest of the milk, whisk and cook over a low heat in a small pan, stirring constantly until it boils and thickens. Then stir in 28g of parmesan and season.
  8. Now build up your lasagne; meat, lasagne sheet, cheese sauce (only use a little of your sauce, it has to go through each layer remember) and repeat until the top, finishing with a lasagne sheet and cheese sauce
  9. Cover loosely with tinfoil and cook for 35mins or so until the pasta is soft. Remove the tinfoil and cover the top of your lasagne with the mozzarella and 28g of parmesan, cook for a further 10-15mins.
  10. Once cooked, I have heard that if you leave your lasagne covered with tinfoil to stay warm for 20mins before cutting and serving it, it will stay in shape, but if you aren’t fussy and or starving tuck in straight away! 🙂

A little something on the side perhaps?

With my lasagne I made a garlic bread pizza that I shared with mum. I have really been craving garlic bread this weather but as it syns so high I can never really have it. However I read in the lastest edition of the Slimming World magazine that Sainsbury’s Pizza Base Mix is only 6.5syns http://www.sainsburys.co.uk/groceries/index.jsp?bmUID=1363303862101 I made it and rolled it out really thin. I then mixed a tbsp of olive oil 2yns with some crushed garlic (which made the whole thing 8.5syns) and brushed this all over my pizza base and cooked for about 15mins. It was so yummy and because I split it with mum I syned it as 4.5.

20130314-234237.jpg

I really should have added some salad with my meal but we had none so I just added some more veg to my lasagne. I hope this gives you some inspiration and ideas. Don’t forget to check out http://www.slimmingeats.com/blog/ you can also follow them on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/SlimmingEatsRecipes?fref=ts they really are AMAZING!

Love

20130314-234315.jpg

3 thoughts on “SW Lasagne and low syn Garlic Pizza Recipe

Leave a Reply

