A bitta Belfast banter, eyooooo


LOOK! RUBY BIJOU HAS SOME NEW PRODUCTS IN . . .

In Northern Ireland we have something called banter, hmmm how can I describe it? Is it me or do you find it hard to explain to others the meaning of words you so commonly use on a day to day basis.  It seems to be something you inherently pick up without any explanation as to what it means. Therefore I had to look it up lol – Banter is the playful and friendly exchange of teasing remarks.

Let me show you some of Ruby Bijou’s latest products, then I shall try to educate you in some Northern Irish lingo 🙂

This is actually my own ring, my lovely boyfriend Ryan bought me at the weekend.

My earrings . . .

My ring again . . .

Image of Wind Yer Neck In Necklace

Image of I Love Shappin' Pin

THESE OTHER PRODUCTS I AM GOING TO SHOW YOU ARE MOST DEFINITELY NORTHERN IRELAND APPROPRIATE, ESPECIALLY THE WEATHER.

An homage to the Big Fish along the Lagan in Belfast City Centre

Rain clouds, unfortunately very common in Northern Ireland, you can also get this in earring form, a little cloud with a raindrop.

Image of Cloud Stud Earrings

Or these cute little clouds .  . .

LEARN A NEW LANGUAGE – NORTHERN IRISH – BELFAST BANTER

So I told you what banter means, now let me give you some examples . . .

First off let’s try some Northern Irish, to pronounce Northern Ireland you say – Norn Irand

A – Ascared: Combination of the words afraid and scared. “I’m ascared of heights.”

B – Bake: Mouth/face. “Shut your bake”, “Look at the bake on her”

C – Catch yourself on!: An expression, translated as “Get a hold of yourself!”, “Wise up!”

D – Dander: Walk. “Lets go for a dander”

E – Eejit : An Idiot. “You are an eejit”

F – Faffin’: Messing around, acting an eejit. “Stop faffin’ around and do some work”

G – Geg: Laugh. “You’re a geg”

H- Hoak: Rummage. “That wee man hoaks through the bins”

I – Is your head cut?: Expression, meaning are you wise? “Why did you buy a chocolate fire guard, is your head cut?”

J – Jammie: Lucky. “That jammie sod just won the lottery”

K – Kex: Underwear. “I have to go a buy new kex for my honeymoon”

L – Lamps: Eyes. “I cried my lamps out”, “I got my lamps punched last night”

M – Melter: An annoying person who gets on your nerves. “That wee girl is a melter

N – Norn Iron: Slang/dialect. Northern Ireland. “I hope Norn Iron win the World Cup”

O – Oul: Old. “This pub is really oul”

P – Peelers: Police. “The peelers do my head in”

R – Ragein’: Angry, fuming. “£15 for a taxi, I was ragein’!”

S – Scundered: Embarrassed. “Look at yer man’s trousers, I’m scundered for ’em!”

T – Till: To. “Are you coming till the shops?”

W – What about ye?: Greeting. “How are you?”

Y – Yarn: Talk. “I had a good yarn with your Ma”

To try and think of some of the Northern Irish slang is a hard one, because apparently I’m posh or so I’m told lol

So, well, I cheated and got them from a website. To see the examples above and a load more click – http://www.inyourpocket.com/northern-ireland/belfast/How-till-spake-Norn-Iron-A-guide-to-local-phrases_70619f

INVEST IN SOME BELFAST BANTER UNIQUE JEWELLERY

As an added bonus Ruby Bijou has a promotion on at the minute!

Just quote RBFREEPOSTAGE13 at the checkout and receive free postage on your order!

Just click  . . .

– the Ruby Bijou picture on the right hand side of my blog

– go to their website http://www.rubybijou.co.uk

– or visit the Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/Rubybijoujewellery?fref=ts

– and did you know Ruby Bijou are on Twitter too? @xRubyBijoux

Zane xxx

3 thoughts on “A bitta Belfast banter, eyooooo

Leave a Reply

