Guest Blog – Day 6


Hi everyone! I’m here on Zane’s’ lovely blog to talk to you about my passion in life- make up! Now, obviously this is a really girly post, but as most girls out there enjoy all things makeup, I’m going to be giving my best tips and tricks for all you readers!

I’ve been interested in makeup since I was about 14, when I started experimenting on the typical eyeliner/mascara combo, so nothing too serious. As the years went on, I started becoming more interested in the high end side of makeup brands and how to properly apply it and have the highest standards of makeup in my kit, so I’ve built up quite a collection!

I’m going to start off with the basics: face makeup. Obviously based on your skin type (dry, combination, oily) you need to properly prep your skin before applying any makeup. Usually, a good moisturiser or primer does the trick. Primers are used to fill in any deep lines or wrinkles in the skin, to make foundation sit on top so it doesn’t sink in and accentuate flaws. The most popular would be Simple moisturiser, or professional primers such as Smashbox or Laura Mercier which over £20+.

Links: Smashbox Primer: (Pricey, but the best out there!)

http://www.smashbox.com/products/6038/Face/Primer/index.tmpl?

Laura Mercier: Again, pricey, but does the job!

http://www.lauramercier.co.uk/store/shop/Step%201:%20Prime%20the%20Skin_Foundation%20Primer%20-%20Oil%20Free_prod210042

Some dupes of these however are the L’oreal Studio Secrets

Smoothing Primer (£14.49 in Superdrug)

http://www.superdrug.com/loreal/loreal-paris-studio-secrets-smoothing-primer/invt/585912

Gosh’s Velvet Touch Line Perfecter (£14.20 in Superdrug)

http://www.superdrug.com/gosh/gosh-velvet-touch-line-perfector/invt/203219?source=179_75

Secondly, is foundation. This is something which is specific to each skin type and colour; so choose carefully! There are plenty of different brands available in drug stores, which are still high quality but lower in price. One of these would be Revlon Colour-stay (£12.49 link below), which is an amazing dupe for MAC Studio Fix foundation(£20),with its medium to high coverage and good range of colours.

MAC:   http://www.maccosmetics.co.uk/product/shaded/158/1231/Products/Face/Foundation/Studio-Fix-Fluid-SPF-15/index.tmpl?cm_mmc=GoogleBase-_-ShoppingFeed-_-Face-_-Foundation&77tadunit=fcb8c5d7&77tadvert=10422251319&77tkeyword=&77tentry=prod_listing_PPC

Revlon Colourstay:

http://www.boots.com/en/Revlon-ColorStay-8482-Makeup-for-Combination-Oily-Skin_30122/
This is a complete dupe of Mac Studio Fix Fluid!

One of the main benefits of this foundation is that it has two formulas: for either dry skin or for combination/oily skin. I use the combination formula, and as I have oily skin, I need something that’s going to last me all day if I need it! It also comes in yellow tones which is rare for a drug store brand. Yellow tones tend to match fake tan pretty good, whereas pink toned foundations are for those who like to go au naturale. The links for both foundations are below! They each have matching powders also, which are essential across the T-Zone and cheeks to control shine and set the makeup completely.

Another essential makeup item in my item would be mascara. I’ve been blessed with naturally long, dark eyelashes so experimenting with mascara is always fun. So far, I have a good 10 different types of mascara in my set, all of which have different looks and wands. Of all these, I’ve discovered that the only type of mascara to hold up lashes and give definition are waterproof mascaras. The best I’ve found (so far!) seems to be L’oreals’ telescopic range. I have 3 from the range and find it gives my lashes the proper lift and volume which lasts all day! Other mascaras I’ve tried and tested are Mac’s Zoom Lash and a whole bunch of Maybelline and Rimmel versions, but none have really compared. The links are below if you’d like you’d like to see for yourself! Below is a photo of the mascara and the wands, just to give you an idea 🙂

L’oreal Lash Architect in Carbon Black

L’Oreal Telescopic in Black

 

L’Oreal Lash Architect 4D in Black. All available in Boots/Superdrug

Another makeup essential for any girl are lipsticks and lip-gloss. Again, I seem to have collected a vast amount over the years, and have some favourites in the collection. The main colours I tend to wear are bright reds, hot pinks and deep wines. When wearing bright lipsticks, lip liners of similar colours are essential to keep the colours from bleeding outside the mouth. Some of my favourites would be from MAC with their huge range of colours, as well as OCC’s ‘Lip Tars’ which are highly pigmented and literally last all day and night if you need it to: (Trust me, after washing my face it still hadn’t budged.), along with Collection 2000’s matte lip glosses. Here’s some photos of my favourite colours to give you an idea of how they show up. I’d be here till Christmas showing you them all!

There are so many different things I could write about, but that’s just some of my makeup essentials for those who love makeup as much as me! I’ll hopefully be back to talk about the rest of my collection, along with the tips and tricks I’ve picked up along the way! Hope this helps those who feel a little lost in then makeup section, and gives you an idea of where to start!

TODAY’S GUEST BLOGGER . . .

MEGAN MC CLEAVE

If you have any questions, feel free to ask them below 🙂

Leave a Reply

