oh you Fluffernutter Roll you!


Happy 4th of July/Independence Day Everyone!!!

Every year I always see the 4th of July celebrations and today was no different all over instagram I was doubling clicking on Independence day themed pics of food, outfits and nail art to name a few.  So this year I decided to jump on the bandwagon, with some American inspired nails, some baking of American treats and an American inspired picnic with one of my besties and her two little ones.

MY NAILS

I went for my nails inc red, white and blue polishes, my random sequences and stars and my primark nail art pens to create my American/4th of July inspired red, white and blue, stars and stripes nails with a sequenced ring finger.

THE PICNIC . . .

As for our picnic well it didn’t last long enough to take pics of! However we did get a few good after pics.  We had some of the American treats I made, Coke (for the grown ups), blueberries and PB and Jelly sandwiches (I didn’t really like these though, just a bit too sweet/weird for me).

SHOES I SPOTTED!

I loved these we converse style American flag themed shoes I spotted in Internationale and a bargain at only £12 . . . unfortunately I had no money left in my budget 😦

FLUFFERNUTTER ROLL! 

Now onto my American inspired treats! Yesterday at Christine’s she offered me a Fluffernutter bite her hubby Gerard had made and OMW they were amazing, a marshmallow covered in a peanut butter covering.

I had to have the recipe and thought about making it into something resembling a fifteen and adding some chocolate to it, these were my finished treats . . .

The Recipe

1 cup of peanut butter (I used the crunchy kind)

1 cup of golden syrup

2 cups of dry semi skimmed milk

100g block of milk chocolate (chopped up)

about half a bag of marshmallows (cut up) – You can use more if you wish, or the mini ones, just wing it 🙂

a little water, if needed to bind the mix together

peanuts (crushed) – for around the roll

What to do . . .

1. Pour the dry semi skimmed milk into a bowl

2. Add the peanut butter and golden syrup

3. Mix together and combine the mix so it starts to look a little like cookie dough

4. Add the chopped marshmallows and chocolate and mix. (at this point you may need to add some water to get it to stick/combine together)

5. Put out some cling film or tin foil on the table (just whatever you have, I started off with one and ended with the other) and sprinkle over the chopped nuts

6. Blob the mix out in a sausage shape on the chopped nuts (I hope you like my technical terms here hehe)

7. Roll the mix up into a tight sausage shape and put in the fridge for about half an hour to an hour

8. Once set cut into pieces (not too thick as this is very rich) and serve 🙂

Don’t forget to enjoy!!

HAPPY 4TH OF JULY EVERYONE

Zane xxxx

Leave a Reply

