COPPAFEEL


coppafeel

Last week I watched a life changing documentary on BBC three – Kris: Dying to Live.  The programme was about a young girl called Kris who was diagnosed at 23 with aggressive terminal cancer.  It showed you her story, how she left it for ages before she went and got the lump in her breast checked out, too late and how now she is living with cancer that is spreading through her body.

Not once did Kris every feel sorry for herself, she showed how it feels to go through her life, trying to stay as normal as possible alongside going through treatments and into machines that are horrible and scary, yet rarely does she show her fear or utter anger at cancer! In a way it seems she has embraced it and she now is working with it and against it, with it as in she wakes up with it everyday and her life revolves around it, but against it too because she is sharing and spreading the word about breast cancer.

TO WATCH THE PROGRAMME YOURSELF

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b03zf3tg

10014672_10152047818597671_1310420577_n

A link to Kris’s response to all the responses she’s had to the documentary

Watching the programme coming from the side of someone who has had cancer herself I understood the feelings she showed and knew those words she didn’t say, I could really empathise and relate to Kris.  I however was lucky, my cancer was curable, but I was very lucky, I too had a lump that I waited ages before getting checked and I was fobbed off my so many drs who just told me it was a gland and I was fine.  Just because you are young doesn’t mean you won’t get cancer and if you do have a lump of any kind, go and get it checked out, don’t let a dr fob you off and say it’s nothing, just because you are young! Be persistent, keep banging on their door until they listen! It’s a truly scary and life changing thing and yeah if I was to find a lump again I don’t know if I would be hesitant and in denial and not tell anyone, I know that’s what happened the first time, I told myself it was nothing, put it off again and again, believed the drs when they said it was nothing, but deep down even though I had NO SYMPTOMS I knew it wasn’t right, that it was something bad!

I think like many cancer sufferers and survivors Kris wanted to do something, her cause much more than say mine would be because she doesn’t know how much time she has left.  Kris alongside her amazing family and friends started a charity COPPAFEEL to educate and spread the word about breast cancer and the signs to look out for.

1149013_10152049177322671_545974310_n

I have to put my hands up and say I at 28 have only checked my boobs like maybe 2-3 times.  This is so bad, and to be honest I didn’t really know what I was doing but had a rough idea what to do.

INFO ON CHECKING YOUR BOOBIEShttp://coppafeel.org/boob-check/

However there is no right or wrong way of doing it, and did you know 400 men, yes men a year are diagnosed with Breast Cancer, it’s not just a woman’s disease! More statistics – 1 in 8 women will experience breast cancer in their lifetime and 1 in 3 people get cancer!  These are scary statistics but the thing is the more you check yourself and the more vigilant you are the quicker you should go to your doctor and get treatment, the higher your survival rate!  That too is why it is so important that cancer research keeps evolving, I am so lucky that due to cancer research that the cancer I had was curable.

DO YOU KNOW THAT COPPAFEEL WILL TEXT YOU FOR FREE ONCE A MONTH TO REMIND YOU TO CHECK YOUR BOOBS?!

Remind Me SMS

You can also apply for one of these FREE shower stickers to remind yourself to check your boobs.

http://coppafeel.org/remind-me/shower-stickers/

COPPAFEEL are constantly running campaigns and attending Festivals and schools to spread the word and educate people at a young age.  Here is their latest event . . .

As I said The COPPAFEEL team attend schools to educate young people but overall their aim is . . .

to make cancer awareness education in schools a statutory requirement to teach as part of the personal, social and health education curriculum!

To help make this possible and do your bit click below

http://rethinkcancer.com/#Action

Everyone went mad for the selfies, if you still need to donate and do your make-up free selfie then why not donate to COPPAFEEL?

There are so many things on the website to educate yourself on and it’s not all jargon and boring science stuff, this is written by young people for young people, so please, PLEASE click the link below and have a look!

Home

LIKE ON FACEBOOKhttps://www.facebook.com/coppafeel.org

FOLLOW ON TWITTERhttps://twitter.com/CoppaFeelPeople

FOLLOW ON INSTAGRAM – http://instagram.com/coppafeelpeople#

YOU WILL ALSO CONSTANTLY SEE ONE OF THE COPPAFEEL LOGOS, (WHEN YOU CLICK ON IT YOU WILL BE DIRECTED TO THEIR WEBSITE) ON MY BLOG AS I PROUDLY WILL BE SUPPORTING THE CHARITY AND HOPEFULLY BRINGING YOU MORE INFORMATION AND UPDATES!

To buy your own hoodie, like mine or another product from the COPPAFEEL shop, click the link below

http://coppafeel.org/shop/


2 thoughts on “COPPAFEEL

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.