The Ivory


20140410-221417.jpg

Only 3 weeks late but finally Dad and I got out for my birthday dinner.  Recommended by my blogger friends Love belfast and Belfast times I chose The Ivory situated on top floor of Victoria Square in Belfast.

20140410-221529.jpg

Might not have been the best weather but great skyline views from our window seat.

20140410-221943.jpg

I definitely wanted to try one of their cocktails. They had a fabulous range in their cocktail menu and it was a hard choice but out of my final two the waiter recommend the Pineapple and coconut daiquiri. I was not disappointed it was amazing and I was given the remainder of the cocktail that wouldn’t fit in the fancy glass in a separate side glass. I thought this was really good so you were definitely getting your money’s worth and dad was able to have a try.

image

There was also a great range on their menu.  You could chose from the Pre – theatre menu or the Al la carte menu. Dad ending up choosing from the pre – theatre menu which was 3 courses including a glass of wine or soft drink for £19.95 and I chose my meal from the Al la carte menu.

20140410-222140.jpg

This was Dad’s starter Smoked Salmon – Walters smoked salmon, pickled cucumber, feta cheese and wheaten croute.  Dad doesn’t like pickled cucumber so without any problem they made the starter up without it.

20140410-222305.jpg

This was my starter Chicken liver parfait – chicken liver parfait, plum chutney and toast.

Both starters were so good, really tasty,  looked great and came in good time!

20140410-222429.jpg

For his main course Dad chose the Confit belly of pork – roast Fermanagh pork chop, mustard mash, parsnip puree and cider soaked raisins.

20140410-222621.jpg

My main was Breast of chicken – local free range breast of chicken, garlic potato fondant, asparagus wrapped in pancetta, roasting juices.

20140410-222721.jpg

We also treated ourselves to the triple cooked chips. The meals once again were fantastic and surprisingly filling.  Dad at first thought is pork was really small bit half way through commented how it was just enough. And as an absolute salt fiend I didn’t have to season my meal once it was perfectly seasoned.

20140410-222829.jpg

Finally we decided to top off our meal with a dessert to share. We went for the Peach parfait –  peach parfait and almond praline.  This was the perfect end to our meal, light, sweet and refreshing.

I also have to give massive credit to the lovely waitress we had! She was very attentive,  friendly, gave good recommendations and laughed at Dad’s bad ‘Dad jokes’.

image

I have to admit I’d never thought of eating in the Ivory before.  For some reason I always had assumed it was very posh, overly fancy food and mega expensive, but how wrong I was! The atmosphere and setting are classy and modern, in no way is anyone posh, the food is lovely with a wide range and presented in classy way with really good price tag! I would 100% be back and recommend it to you all!

P.S. Dad really enjoyed his red wine, a Spanish Roja.

For information on the Pre – theatre menu click below
http://www.theivorybelfast.com/restaurant/menus/pre-theatre-menu

For information on the Al la carte menu click below
http://www.theivorybelfast.com/restaurant/menus/dinner

X>

One thought on “The Ivory

Leave a Reply

