Easy peasy nice cream


image

Over the last week in this warm weather I’ve been making ‘fake ice-cream’ using only fruit, apparently in the healthy eating world that I’m late to come to it’s actually called nice cream.  As an added bonus to it being healthy, tasty and low calorie it’s actually really quick and easy to make.

Here are some I made earlier –

image

Banana and raspberry

image

Banana, mango and strawberry

image

Banana, strawberry and raspberry

I like to eat mine for breakfast, a different way to eat fruit.  Great for the kids and the rest of the family to encourage them to eat more fruit.

image

– Any mixer will do, I have a small hand held one
– You can freeze your banana if you want, but you don’t always need to if you’re using other frozen fruit (wee tip, if you freeze your banana peel it first or like me you’ll have to take the skin off with a vegetable peeler)
– To get the sorbet/ice-cream effect you need to have frozen fruit, not just the one banana (pick whatever you fancy, I like frozen raspberries)
– I like to add a fresh fruit to my nice cream, just to help it to blend, if you don’t have any you can use fruit juice

SO HERE’S HOW I DO IT. . .

I’ve shown you how to in picture form with instructions and links to the videos of me making it on my instagram account.

image

Put your fruit in the blender, today I started with a frozen banana and fresh strawberries from my garden

click here to see the video on my instagram account

image

image

image

And whizz it up until there are no lumps.  At this point mine was a little too liquidy (too many fresh strawberries), I then added my frozen raspberries

image

image

click here to see the part of the video on my instagram account

image

Unfortunately adding the raspberries this time didn’t make much of a difference and it would be too smoothy like to eat as nice cream

image

So I poured it into a plastic tub to go into the freezer to set

image

I had some strawberries left over so I sliced them and added them on the top before they went into the freezer.

the final video can be found by clicking here to go to my instagram account

image

An hour later I take it out of the freezer, all ready to eat.

image

Wah-la really tastey and the texture of sorbet, it melts quite quickly in this heat, it won’t be solid.  You have your nice cream, as easy as that!

Have fun experimenting with different flavours, and if you want an instant nice cream just add less fresh fruit or fruit juice.  Don’t forget to let me know how you get on 🙂 either leave me a comment on my twitter or here on the blog or tag me on instagram.

Twitter – @mylifemyblog_z
Instagram – @zeejay86

One thought on “Easy peasy nice cream

  1. Tara says:

    Ooh, I might have to try this, I don’t particularly like ice-cream so this would be a nice alternative! (And yes, freezing a banana with the skin on, been there, thought I was going to take a finger off peeling it lol). x x

Leave a Reply

