We all need a little help


image

For ages I’ve been meaning to post what’s in my makeup bag and haven’t got round to it.  So instead I decided to extend it and show you what beauty, skin and hair products I use.

image

Excluding my shampoo these are the goodies I use to give myself a little helping hand in the beauty department.

Let’s start at the top – My Hair

image

I hold my hands up I am one of those people who are forever changing their shampoo.  Sometimes because it’s on offer, I’ve heard good things and want to try it or because my hair needs it.  At the minute my hair needs it and my mama bear was nice enough to buy me this V05 smoothly does it shampoo and conditioner.  Beforehand and due to the hair colour change my hair is a little dry and can be frizzy and these are fantastic for taming it!

image

Again due to the change in hair colour I alternate my V05 shampoo with this PRO-VOKE Touch of Silver shampoo.  This helps to take those yellow, brassy tones out of my hair.

image

When it comes to drying my hair I spritz this argan oil heat defence leave in spray to my wet hair.  I picked this up in one of the Pound stores.

image

In my fringe I use Percy & Reed volumising no oil oil. My fringe is a new thing alongside the hair colour so it’s a bit of trial and error and so far I find this the best for my fringe.  I also use this in the rest of my hair for a natural look because I have such fine hair.

image

However for a more volumisted look I swear by Fudge Urban Iced raspberry vanilla styling mousse! You literally need the tiniest amount, it smells gorgeous and makes your hair look amazing!

image

With the frizz I have at the minute I swear by John Frieda Miraculous Recovery Frizz Ease. I use this once I have my hair dry and styled, but depending on the condition I would sometimes put it in after the argan oil heat defence leave in spray.

image

Not forgetting the trusted dry shampoo, I have tried many over the years, but none compare to Batiste. I love this dry shampoo, I have the large can in my room and these little travel sized cans are perfect for spritzing your hair on the go, just pop it in your handbag.

Next up is – My Skin

image

My MUST HAVE all over skin treatment is my tan.  I love to have a good tan and over the years have tried many different brands.  Some I’ve loved but had to stop using because they just stopped working as well on my skin.  However Cocoa Brown Tan has never once failed me and I’ve been using it on my skin for years!!! With a range of products I’ve used nearly every one (with the exception of their new products instant tan bronzing gel matte and shimmer, which I am dying to get my hands on!) and my skin always looks sun kissed and natural.  It goes on easily, develops in 1-3hours depending on how dark you want to go, fades well or comes off easily with their tough stuff body scrub!

image

I recently spotted this Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water on offer in Boots for £1.  One of my best friends swears by it and I thought I’d give it a go.  Previously I’d been using the Cleanse and Polish products by Liz Earle, these are great, but for someone lazy who just wants her bed (Yup, hands up, it’s me!) it is time consuming.  What I love about the Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water is that I can take off my makeup in bed with a cotton pad, I don’t need much of it and it leaves my skin soft, clean and mostly I don’t need to moisturise.

image

However, when my skin does need that extra bit of tlc and moisture I use Liz Earle skin repair moisturiser.

image

Is it just me or have you searched for years, endlessly looking for a hand cream that you don’t need to re-apply every half hour?!?!  Well that was me until I came across Crabtree & Evelyn ultra moisturising hand therapy and the Pomegranate, argan and grapeseed is my favourite scent. I love this because it does what it says on the tin, leaves my hands moisturised for hours and smells amazing!!!

Now for – My Makeup

image

Putting it out there I’m not one of those girls who checks and reapplies her makeup during the day. I will do my makeup in the morning and that will be it, whether it starts to come off or not.   To be honest depending on how lazy I’m being, where I’m going or how much time I have I don’t even use all the products I’ve shown above.

The makeup I do wear everyday (well the days I wear makeup)

At the minute depending on my skin and the weather I’m either mixing or changing between two liquid foundations.

image

The first foundation, one I’ve mostly been wearing for months is the Stay Perfect Foundation from Boots No7. I found No7 really good as they do the skin Match Made Foundation Service to get you the right colour and then you can try samples of the different foundations.  These are enough to last you a couple of days so you can get a really good idea of what you want and what suits your skin best.

image

And this is the other foundation I am using at the minute. Match Perfection from Rimmel London.  So I would either pick the No7 foundation or this Rimmel London one or sometimes mix them.

image

I find the bags under my eyes have quite a blue tinge to them, so I find it hard to get a concealer with good coverage for this.  I did use one from Mua from Superdrug which worked really well, but when I ran out my local Superdrug had none left, which left me looking and trying out a cheap brand from somewhere else. I picked up this Miss Beauty Liquid Concealer from Poundworld,  and it’s fantastic, a bargain by which is perfect for my skin.

image

I also picked up the pressed powder from the Miss Beauty range from Poundworld,  I use a little bit of the powder to set my makeup.

image

Over the years I’ve lost count of the number of mascaras I have tried but Roller Lash from Benefit is my must have and absolute favourite! I don’t have to bother worrying about the shape of my lashes (curled or straight) as this mascara does it for you and defines my lashes.

image

For blusher I always stick to No7 from Boots. I really like their blushers as they are easy to apply, look natural and there are a range of colours to choose from.

*From now these are additional products I use depending on my mood, what my skin needs, what look I’m going for or what cover-up I need.

image

My eyebrows are naturally pretty light these days (handy for my current hair colour), but this, pretty old set from L’Oréal is and has been my trusted friend for years!  Perfect to darken my brows with a natural look when I want to or between eyebrow tints.

image

This is Boots No7 Beautifully Matte Mousse Foundation I would usually wear this in the summer when the freckles are out and I was just a light and natural coverage.  I would also use it to as a cover-up concealer for any spots or blemishes or to build up on my foundation coverage.

image

I am loving this Raspberry Rose Lip Butter from Nivea. It smells delicious and leaves a slight sheen on your lips.

image

So there you have it the products in my beauty routine.  I will try to get a few before and after pictures using these products for you and perhaps a couple of videos using them for another post.

Just remember. . .

image

Leave a Reply

