Winner, winner, what a dinner!


image

This new year I’ve decided to go back to the 5:2 diet and really try my best to stick to it. I’m not pushing myself to really lose weight or weighing myself all the time, but I’m aiming to stick to 600 cals 2 days a week and then 1,690 the other 5 days.  I’ve been lazy when it comes to my fast days and end up buying the Marks and Spencer Balanced for You range, they are on offer at the minute, save me time cooking, taste amazing and are full of all the nutrients I need.

However this week with the days dragged out until pay day and an impromptu fast day (date night tomorrow) I ended up making my own dinner.  I know it’s not a big thing, I usually make my own meals from scratch but when you haven’t eaten all day it’s the longest time EVER!

image

Yesterday if any of you seen on the blog was a big brunch of bacon, poached eggs and avocado with chilli, lime and coriander on toast.  I was actually really impressed with my first attempt as it tasted good and really filled me.  So with a couple of tweeks to lower the calories I made it again for dinner tonight.

image

Tonight I went for mushrooms, two medium poached eggs, three rashers of grilled  bacon, and the avocado mix on toasted bread which I cut in half to go further. I really don’t know if it’s a mind over matter thing or what, but I find cutting my food into smaller pieces and/or putting it on a smaller plate makes all the difference when it comes to feeling full.

For the avocado mix on the toast I mashed up half an avocado and added a small amount of chopped fresh chilli, chopped coriander and a squeeze of lime juice.

image

I didn’t add in the calories for the chilli because I basically used the tiniest amount, I am a total wimp!

If anyone is looking for a low calorie meal, which is quick and easy to make, I would definitely recommend this!

Leave a Reply

