AVA Bistro, Bangor


img_20170326_182007_912.jpg

Last weekend I spent Saturday out with the girls for my birthday.  We headed to the newly revamped AVA Bistro, in Bangor, Main Street; yup we are still going with the theme of new, local businesses.

img_20170331_155834.jpg

The AVA Bistro opened it’s doors on 1st March, an extension of The AVA Winebar.  The newly opened Bistro ‘promises to deliver a more casual setting with an exciting new menu, innovative bistro style food, and a focus on excellent customer service and value for money.’

img_20170331_155826.jpg

Located at the top of Main Street and Duffern Avenue, opposite the bus station in Bangor, Co.down (map).

Opening Hours

Monday – CLOSED

Tuesday to Thursday – 5pm to 9pm

Friday – 12 noon to 9.30pm

Saturday – 12 noon to 9.30pm

Sunday – 12.30pm to 7.30pm

I chose the AVA Bistro as I had heard great reviews, it was local and the photos of their food on both their Facebook and Instagram pages made my mouth water!

img_20170325_193342_1.jpg

They have a wide range of mouth watering meals on their menu, here are the links for their menus.

Food Menu                                     After Dinner Menu

Now let me show you just a couple of the meals we went for. . .

img_20170326_113601.jpg

Starters – Tempura Vegetables with Asian dipping sauce

img_20170326_113535.jpg

Starters – Sizzling Garlic and Chilli Prawns with Sourdough

img_20170326_113503.jpg

My Main – Wild Mushroom and Cream Lasagne with Garlic Bread

img_20170326_113444.jpg

My friend’s dessert – Tiramisu

Another reason I chose the AVA Bistro was for their amazing cocktails, I know they are amazing as my friend is one of the Mixologists. Here is their Drinks menu and a couple of the drinks we had over dinner.

Looking back it looks like I was enjoying the drinks and chat too much as I only have a photo of my dessert aka Cocktail; Espresso Martini and one of the other drinks I had; Hendrix Gin with Lemonade and Cucumber. 

img_20170326_113325.jpg

It was really busy the night we were there so I couldn’t get too many photos of the decor, so you will have to trust me it is really nice, classy yet casual, modern and light.  They also had live music playing in the background; the guy was really good, played a good mix of music and wasn’t too loud.  The service that night due to them being so busy was a bit crazy and a little slow, but I think they were sort staffed.  However credit where credit is due when we asked for something or brought something up they got us sorted.

img_20170325_193342_1.jpg

I know I already showed you the AVA Bistro menu but I had to show it again as this is the reason I will be back again and again to try more of the menu.  I would love to try their Cote de Bouf as the other half and I tried this when we were in Glasgow for new year and really enjoyed it!

Don’t forget you can keep up to date with all the AVA Bistro‘s news and updates by also following them on twitter.

DISCLAIMER ALERT: EVEN THOUGH MY FRIEND WORKS AT THE AVA Bistro I WAS NOT ASKED TO WRITE THIS BLOG, MY OPINIONS ARE GENUINE AND MY OWN. I HAVE WRITTEN THIS BLOG AS I WANTED TO SHARE WITH YOU SOMEWHERE I WENT AND ENJOYED AND AGAIN PROMOTE ANOTHER LOCAL BUSINESS.

#supportlocalbusinesses #buylocal

xxx

 

Leave a Reply

