Nail me . . . Valentine’s nail tutorial


20130210-175259.jpg
Today’s blog is a tutorial inspired by an earlier post this month – February nail inspiration. In that post there were a few nail ideas I loved so I decided to try them out alongside a couple of other ideas.

20130210-175808.jpg
My valentine nails include ‘LOVE’ in scrabble letters, mini hearts, ‘love’, red roses, petals – he loves me, he loves me not, love heart and white drawn heart. I’m now going to show you, step by step how to create them yourself.

20130210-181253.jpg
The first nails I’ll show you are the ‘LOVE’ in scrabble letters . . .

20130210-181410.jpg
Firstly you want to start off with a base coat on your nails and then using a nail art pen you want to write your letters, I used the thin brush end of the pen to write the L,V and E, and for the O and the numbers I used the pen end.

20130210-182634.jpg
Only after I had written the numbers did I realise they were wrong, but hey lol. Ok once your letters have dried, I used a toothpick and a brighter coloured nail polish to create dots on the nails.

20130210-182837.jpg
The next nail was the mini hearts . . .

20130210-183647.jpg
I think these look mega cute and were actually really easy using this picture I found on Pinterest

20130210-184045.jpg
Firstly I painted my nail with a double layer of white polish then using a cocktail stick and a couple of shades of pink and purple polish, I followed the above picture and covered my nail with hearts. This technique was really easy, hearts can be hard to do, but this way easy peasy!

20130210-184633.jpg
For my middle finger a painted a base coat of bright pink and when dry I used my white nail art pen, and using the pen part I attempted to write, in joint up writing love and using the same technique as above a little heart.

20130210-191331.jpg
The next nail design I tried was red roses, I had seen flower nail art a bit like this before so I looked at a couple of pictures and tried it out for myself . . .

20130210-185428.jpg
I started of with a base coat of light blue, then once dried I placed a few random blobs or red. Once these blobs had dried I used a cocktail stick and a different shade of red to add in the petals and highlighted it a bit more with black polish. Again once dried I used a cocktail stick again to add some green leaves.

20130210-190126.jpg
Starting onto my right hand I attempted the petals – he loves me, he loves me not. This took a couple of attempts, trying to do it using my left hand!

20130210-192243.jpg
I’m sorry I only have 2 pictures for this nail, I was making so many mistakes that when I finally got it kind of working I didn’t take pictures. Firstly I started of with a base colour of a very pale, light pink. I then added the two yellow centres and using my white nail art pen and with the pen part I attempted to draw on petals and when dry highlighted them with the black nail art pen and tried to draw a ❤ and write ME.

20130210-193412.jpg
This was my nod to the love heart for my pointer finger. I painted a base coat of peach and once dry I used my pink nail art pen to write ‘BE MINE’, I find writing in caps is a lot easier because it’s basically just straight lines.

20130210-193647.jpg
At last I thought! My final nail, I painted a base coat of bright red and drew on a heart, filled with little hearts with the pen part of my white nail art pen.

20130210-193812.jpg
So that’s it for my own ‘love’ nails, I hope you find this tutorial easy to follow and any questions please just ask me!

Lots of love

20130210-194023.jpg

Leave a Reply

